Whilst there are plenty of successful marketing methods that do take a toll on your budget, there are ways to market your app without spending money. In this article we’ll be discussing a few methods that can be used to market your app when you don’t have a huge budget to put towards advertisements or other marketing methods.

App Store Optimisationdsp-vs-atd-300x183

There may not be an ASO expert in your development team, but that doesn’t mean you can’t try to optimize your app store listing by yourself. There are plenty of free resources available on the internet that give aspiring developers tips for improving their ASO.

Even if you make just a few small changes to your app listing, you could be potentially improving your search ranking by a considerable amount. When optimizing your app store listing, you should always take a few things into consideration.

Firstly, the actual app description needs to be optimized with keywords and phrases that you know your potential app users are going to search for. A more expert opinion may be needed to get the most effective keywords for your app description, but with a bit of brainstorming you’re bound to create a more optimized description.

It’s also important to make it readable by users, and not just search engines. Make sure your app features are displayed clearly, and make readers of your app description know exactly what it does and who it is designed for within the first few paragraphs.

Screenshots and app icons are incredibly powerful tools and should be used to their best extent. Finally, the app title should be re-considered. You can find articles and blogs explaining how to pick out keywords, screenshots, app icons and an app titles all over the internet.

Social Media

Whether you have 100,000 downloads or less than 10, connecting to your app users via social media should be something you should consider. Using social media is free, but it’s a very powerful tool that can do a couple of things to market your app.

Networking with Others
Firstly, using social media gives you a platform to network with the world. You’re given the chance to show your app to online publications, successful developers with a large loyal following, and all sorts of other individuals that could help spark interest in your app.

Letting your App Users Network
You should always encourage your app users to use social media to share your app. When asking a user to share your app via social media, you should be careful, however. You may want to offer a user some kind of reward for sharing your app, but you don’t want to come across as spam-like. Social media posts along the lines of, “Check out this app so I can get 25 free gems,” are more likely to turn potential app users away.

Seeking Active Communities

If you’re struggling to find a strong user base for your application, look for already established user bases. There are plenty of communities to share your app with, but it depends on what your app does. If you’ve made a mobile game, you may want to look for various communities that promote the sharing of game apps. Two good examples of this would be the /r/iosgaming Subreddit or the TouchArcade forums.

If you have a more specialist app, for example, a cooking app that allows users to track the calories of each meal, you may want to share it with communities that fits in with your audience. If you think carefully about your audience, you’ll have a good chance at finding a community of app users that would love to give your application a try.

App Catalogues, Magazines and Review Portals

Online publications, magazines and review portals that focus on providing detailed app reviews for their users are becoming more popular. Smartphone owners are increasingly looking for the greatest apps and these review portals give their audiences a chance to find apps that they may not have had the chance to find in the app store.

This gives an aspiring development team like yours the chance to get your app shown by a huge audience. The great thing is that these kinds of audiences are highly adaptable, and their main interest is to find new apps to download. If you choose to look for various online outlets to get in touch with, make sure to make a decent press pack that you can share so that these places have all of the content they need to showcase your app.

Improving User Experience

If you’re starting to bring in more downloads, don’t start slacking. Consistent effort is key to growing your app user base further. You should always pay attention to your app store reviews and ratings so that you can find out exactly what features your userbase may like to see. Reviews are also a great chance for you to know what is wrong with your app that can be changed to improve the overall user experience.

A better user experience generally means a higher app store rating – this can increase your search ranking. If you improve your user experience, more of your userbase may be willing to share their apps to their friends or via social media as well.

Mittlerweile gibt es viele erfolgreiche Marketingtools auf dem Markt, die das Budget stark strapazieren. Aber es gibt auch einige interessante Möglichkeiten die App zu vermarkten ohne Geld dafür auszugeben. In diesem Artikel schauen wir uns 5 dieser Möglichkeiten an, wenn kein Marketing Budget für Advertising oder andere Marketingmethoden zur Verfügung steht.

App Store Optimierungdsp-vs-atd-300x183

Auch wenn kein ASO-Experte im eigenen Entwicklerteam sitzt, heißt das nicht, dass man nicht versuchen sollte den Auftritt im App Store zu optimieren. Es gibt unzählige freiverfügbare Ressourcen im Internet, die einem gute Tipps für die Verbesserung von ASO geben.

Auch wenn nur kleine Änderungen im App Listing vorgenommen werden, kann dies möglicherweise das Ranking in der App Store Suche erheblich verbessern. Dabei sollte man aber ein paar Aspekte beachten.

Als erstes muss die aktuelle App Beschreibung hinsichtlich der Keywords und denkbaren Ausdrücke, die die potentiellen User für die Suche verwenden könnten, optimiert werden.
Außerdem ist es wichtig, dass die App Beschreibung nicht nur für die Suchmaschinen lesbar ist. Es muss sichergestellt sein, dass die wichtigsten Features der App klar dargestellt werden und das beim Lesen der App Beschreibung deutlich wird, was mit der App gemacht werden kann und für wen diese App sinnvoll ist.
Zudem sind Screenshots und App Icons ausschlaggebende Tools und sollten ganz ausgereizt werden.
Zuletzt sollte auch der App Titel nochmal überdacht werden. Es gibt mittlerweile unzählige Artikel darüber, wie man die besten Keywords, Screenshots, App Icons und App Titel auswählt.

Social Media

Egal ob man mehr als 100000 Downloads generiert oder lediglich 10, es ist immer sinnvoll die App User über Social Media zu verbinden. Social Media ist kostenlos und es ist ein sehr wichtiges Tool, mit dem man ein paar gute Sachen machen kann um die App zu vermarkten.

Mit anderen verbinden
Als erstes einmal bietet Social Media eine Plattform, mit der man mit der ganzen Welt kommunizieren kann. Zudem wird einem die Möglichkeit gegeben, die App Online zu veröffentlichen und erfolgreichen Entwicklern mit einer treuen Userbasis und einer großen Bandbreite an potentiellen Usern zu erreichen, die alle dazu beitragen können, dass Interesse der App zu erhöhen.

Die App User sprechen lassen
Man sollte immer versuchen, seine User dazu zu bringen, die App auf Social Media Plattformen zu teilen. Allerdings sollte man dabei auch vorsichtig sein, wenn man die User dafür belohnt das sie die App teilen. Schließlich möchte man ja nicht als Spam bei potentiellen neuen Usern ankommen. Social Media Posts wie „Check out this app so I can get 25 free gems” schrecken potentielle User eher ab, als dass man sie in den App Store zum Downloaden bringt.

Aktive Communities finden

Wenn man sich damit schwer tut, eine eigene Userbasis für die App aufzubauen, sollte man sich bei bereits bestehenden umschauen. Es gibt eine Reihe an Communities, auf denen man seine App teilen kann. Natürlich kommt es dabei darauf an, was die App eigentlich kann. Wenn man zum Beispiel ein Mobile Game erstellt hat, sollte man sich verschiede Communities raussuchen, die die Verbreitung von Game Apps unterstützen. Zwei gute Möglichkeiten sind zum Beispiel /r/iosgaming Subreddit oder das TouchArcade Forum.

Wenn man allerdings eine speziellere App hat, beispielsweise eine Koch-App, die es den Usern erlaubt die Kalorien eines jeden Essens zu überwachen, will man diese App vorzugsweise mit einer Audience teilen, die genau zu der Zielgruppe gehört. Wenn man sich mit der jeweiligen Zuhörerschaft einer Community vertraut macht und diese hinsichtlich der App dann auch gezielt auswählt, hat man eine gute Chance die User zu erreichen, die auch Interesse daran haben die App auszuprobieren.

App Katalog, Magazine und Review Portale

Online Veröffentlichungen, Magazine und Bewertungsportale die darauf spezialisiert sind, der Leserschaft detaillierte Informationen über ausgewählte Apps zu liefern, gewinnen mehr und mehr an Beliebtheit.

Das gibt einem aufstrebenden Entwickler-Team die Chance, die App einer weitreichenden Zuhörerschaft vorzustellen. Das Gute daran ist, dass diese Leser hoch motiviert sind neue Apps zu finden und herunterzuladen. Wenn man also Interesse an solchen Veröffentlichungen hat, sollte man im Vornherein schon alle Informationen gebündelt zusammensuchen, sodass diese Portale die gesamten Inhalte, die gezeigt werden sollen, bereits vorliegen haben.

User Experience verbessern

Wenn man anfängt Installs zu bekommen, sollte man auf keinen Fall nachlassen. Die konsistente Verbesserung ist der Schlüssel dafür um die App Userbasis weiter auszubauen. Man sollte immer ein Augenmerk auf die App Store Reviews und die Ratings haben. Dadurch erfährt man viel über die User und was den Usern in der App fehlt oder was noch verbesserungswürdig für die gesamte User Experience ist.

Eine besser User Experience meint im Allgemeinen ein höheres App Store Rating – das kann auch das Suchranking erhöhen. Wenn die User Experience verbessert wird, werden auch mehr User dazu bereit sein, die App aus eigenen Stücken ihren Freunden vorzuschlagen und auf Social Media Kanälen zu verbreiten.