Mobile deep linking has been around for a long, long time. It’s been touted as something quite special, but for a long while deep linking for apps has mostly gone untouched. Considering that mobile deep linking has been around since iOS 2.0, it’s stunning to realize that it’s only really become more apparent within the last few years.

A big part of the reason behind this is because many businesses don’t truly know how to utilize deep linking for their benefit. It’s either this or businesses don’t have unlimited time on their hands and as a result they choose campaigns that will prove to bring better results for less effort.

Thankfully more opportunities for mobile deep linking are becoming available and this will make it easier for businesses to benefit without them having to undergo a lot of effort and preparation first.

In this article we’ll be discussing the best practices for deep linking apps in 2015.

Deep Linking for App Installsapp-deep-linking-300x141

Earlier in the year, Facebook put more development into their app install ads. Since May, developers are now able to set up deep linking for app installs. Unlike other methods of deep linking, this new opportunity through Facebook will allow developers to create a standard app install ad that can link to certain content within the app. Let’s explore the differences between standard app installs and deep link app installs below.

Here’s an example of a standard app install ad – A user will see a suggested app post on their smartphone whilst browsing Facebook. The ad will list an application and will encourage the user to download it. If a click happens, the user will be prompted to install the application. Once the app is installed the conversion is completed and the ad process ends here.

Here’s an example of a deep link app install ad – A user will see a suggested app post on their smartphone whilst browsing Facebook. This time, the ad could be listing a specific set of information. For example, the ad could list deals for cheaper train fares. When a user clicks the ad, the same app install prompt will appear, but once the app is installed it will open up to a relevant page within the application related to the context of the ad.

Having deep linking for app installs will remove additional steps that a standard install ad would include. Removing these steps helps improve customer experience and it brings customers one step closer to conversion.

Contextual Deep Linking

Another area of deep linking worth exploring has been known as ‘Contextual deep linking.’

Contextual deep linking is something that has popped up in recent years that big internet companies such as Google, Facebook, Twitter and eBay have put a lot of focus into and it opens up a lot of potential for app marketing.

Contextual deep linking is similar to the Facebook app install example above but the advertisement part is removed from the picture.

With contextual deep linking, you can create information that can lead to certain content within your application. A good example of contextual deep linking can be found in Google searches from a mobile device. If you were to download TripAdvisor, a useful app that provides users with information on travel prices and schedules, contextual information can be seen when searching Google on your smartphone.

For example, if a user with TripAdvisor were to search for a certain flight path, Google can provide deep linking for that users so that they can quickly jump to relevant information within an app.

More areas on the internet are supporting the use of deep linking for apps and it opens up a lot of potential. In a recent TechCrunch article it was shown that contextual deep linking can greatly improve user retention, long term engagement and many other important areas of user acquisition.

Hopefully these two examples of deep linking for apps will show you how you can use it yourself for your own circumstances.

Mobile Deep Linking gibt es jetzt schon für eine relativ lange Zeit. Damals wurde es noch als etwas ganz Besonderes angepriesen und dennoch wurde es für einen langen Zeitraum kaum verwendet. Wenn man sich vorstellt, dass es diese Form von Deep Linking im Mobilebereich mittlerweile schon seit iOS 2.0 gibt, ist es eigentlich nur noch umso erstaunlicher, dass es erst seit geraumer Zeit auch tatsächlich genutzt wird.

Ein wesentlicher Grund dafür ist, dass viele Unternehmen nicht wirklich wissen, wie sie Deep Linking erfolgsversprechend einsetzen können. Weiter haben Unternehmen schlichtweg nicht genügend Zeit um dies auszuprobieren und setzen somit wieder auf Kampagnen die bessere Resultate für weniger Aufwand bringen.

Glücklicherweise kommen immer mehr Möglichkeiten für Mobile Deep Linking auf den Markt und das macht es einfacher für Unternehmen davon zu profitieren ohne erst viel Aufwand und Vorbereitung reinzustecken.

In diesem Artikel besprechen wir die Best Practices für Deep Linking Apps in 2015.

Deep Linking für App Installsapp-deep-linking-300x141

Am Anfang des Jahres hatte Facebook die App Installs Ads wesentlich weiterentwickelt. Seit Mai sind Entwickler nun in der Lage Deep Linking für App Installs aufzusetzen. Diese neue Möglichkeit bei Facebook erlaubt es Entwicklern eine Standard App Install Ad zu kreieren was allerdings auf bestimmte Inhalte innerhalb der App verlinkt. Schauen wir und die wesentlichen Unterschiede zwischen Standard App Installs und Deep Link App Installs anhand von Beispielen an:

Hier ein Beispiel einer Standard App Install Ad – Ein User sieht einen Post einer empfohlenen App auf seinem Smartphone während er durch Facebook browst. Die Anzeige zeigt dann eine App und versucht den User dahinzubewegen, dass dieser die App herunterlädt. Wenn dieser auf die Anzeige klickt, wird der User angespornt diese App auch zu installieren indem er direkt auf die Seite im App Store weitergeleitet wird. Sobald die App installiert wurde ist die Konversion fertig und der Ad-Prozess endet hier.

Hier ein Beispiel einer Deep Link App Install Ad – Ein User sieht einen Post einer empfohlenen App auf seinem Smartphone während er durch Facebook browst. Die Anzeige verweist auf bestimmte Informationen innerhalb der App. Beispielsweise kann so eine Anzeige Deals für günstige Zugverbindungen anzeigen. Wenn nun der User auf die Anzeige klickt, wird dieser zunächst auf die gleiche App Install Seite geschickt wie bei einer normalen Install Anzeige. Sobald der User hier nun aber die App installiert hat, wird dieser nicht auf die Startseite der App geführt, sondern innerhalb der App an die Stelle geschickt, wo der User die Informationen bezogen auf die Werbeanzeige findet.

Im Vergleich zu Standard Install Ads verbannt Deep Linking für Apps zusätzliche Schritte (und hier ist der App Install bereits inkludiert). Dieses Umgehen der zusätzlichen Schritte erhöht die Customer Experience und es bringt die potentiellen Kunden schneller zum Ziel bzw. zu einer Conversion.

Contextual Deep Linking

Ein anderer Ansatz des Deep Linkings der ebenfalls lohnenswert ist diesen näher zu betrachten ist bekannt als „Contextual deep linking“.

Contextual Deep Linking ist erst vor ein paar Jahren so richtig aufgekommen, als große Firmen wie Google, Facebook, Twitter und eBay ihren Fokus hierauf gelegt haben. Dies hat dann auch ein großes Potential für das App Marketing hervorgebracht.

Contextual Deep Linking ist ähnlich wie das Facebook App Install Beispiel, allerding ist die Werbebotschaft vom Bild entfernt.

Mit dieser Art von Deep Linking können Informationen kreiert werden, die auf einen bestimmten Kontext innerhalb der App verweisen. Ein gutes Beispiel von Contextual Deep Linking kann in Google Search für mobile Geräte gesehen werden. Wenn nun beispielsweise ein User (der bereits TripAdvisor auf dem Smartphone installiert hat) nach einer gewissen Flugroute sucht, kann Google so Deep Linken, dass dieser schnell und direkt innerhalb der App auf diese Informationen verwiesen wird.

Weitere Felder des Internets unterstützen Deep Linking für Apps und bringt dadurch auch eine Menge Potential mit sich. In einem kürzlich erschienen TechCrunch Artikel wurde gezeigt das Contextual Deep Linking eindeutig die User Retention, das langfristige Engagement und viele andere wichtige Bereiche der User Akquisition verbessern kann.

Hoffentlich haben Ihnen die zwei Beispiel von Deep Linking für Apps gezeigt, wie Sie das selber für Ihre eigenen Kampagnen nutzen können.