Let’s take a theoretical look at developing and monetizing new mobile game apps in 2015. For the sake of this article, let’s say your goal is to create a mobile game that is going to be profitable via various monetizing techniques. What game you make will matter entirely on what kind of revenue you can bring in as this is your end goal.

We’ll be explaining a few interesting trends to follow that could help you make some fast cash this year from mobile game apps.

Localization Focus: The Best Countriesmoney-games-app-300x203

Before we think about the game we’re going to create, let’s first look at who we’re going to make the game for. The app stores in different countries are constantly fluctuating. Sometimes there are more opportunities in one country, but give it a few months and you’ll find more luck somewhere else.

As it stands in 2015, there are a few countries that are worth investing special focus on, and we’d go as far as to say that your localization efforts for these countries should be doubled.

The best regions to tap into are the regions seeing the most growth. Some already situated regions such as USA or Europe have a lot of potential for mobile game revenue, but there’s a lot of competition, making it hard to earn without fighting against competitors.

According to Chartboost’s latest report, the three countries seeing the most year on year growth in 2015 are Iran at 897%, Malaysia at 668% growth and Iraq at 604%. These numbers are absolutely insane and certainly worth tapping into.

Here’s a look at the top ten countries for year on year growth.

  • Iran – 897%
  • Malaysia – 668%
  • Iraq – 604%
  • Peru – 417%
  • Colombia – 405%
  • India – 394%
  • Ukraine – 232%
  • Egypt – 221%
  • Argentina – 196%
  • Philippines – 156%

Taking a Look at the Most Popular Game Categories

Of course it’s important to focus on the situated regions such as Europe, UK, North America and Japan, but there’s bounds of untold potential in the above countries thanks to their immense growth.

So let’s say we focus on localizing in a number of the above countries after developing the game in your native language. Now it’s time to find a decent category to work with. Interestingly, the interest for categories is drastically different per region. However, the top five game categories are seen below, alongside their top three performing regions.

  • Action – 54% share in India, 34% Brazil, 25% Russia,
  • Adventure – 19% share in UK, 17% Australia, 12% South Korea
  • Casual – 19% share in Brazil, 18% Germany, 17% Russia
  • Puzzle – 41% share in China, 23% UK, 17% Germany
  • Simulation – 21% share in Germany, 19% South Korea, 19% Russia

If you are considering localizing your content in any of the above regions, these categories may be best suited. Alternatively, you could pick out a category and focus on the regions that it’s most popular in.

Worldwide CPIs

Developing a game in a popular region isn’t all it’s going to take. You’re going to need to think carefully about your budget to ensure you’re pulling a decent net revenue. We’re going to be taking a look at the worldwide CPI cost for the most developed regions when it comes to their mobile industry and the app store.

If you’re looking at saving some pennies on bringing in new users, you may want to choose your main region as one of the cheaper options on the list below.

Average CPI January 2015:

  • South Africa – $0.97
  • Brazil – $1.16
  • Great Britain – $1.80
  • Russia – $2.02
  • USA – $2.10
  • Japan – $2.42
  • Canada – $2.48
  • Australia – $2.78

South Africa may be the cheapest option on the list but it may not be the best choice for you. Both Brazil and Great Britain have a low CPI currently despite hosting developed app stores. USA and Russia are around average levels, whilst Japan, Canada and Australia are on the high end. With that being said, we know there’s a lot of potential for revenue in Japan, and the same can be said for Australia and even Canada.

Hopefully this information has given you a little insight into some marketing and monetization trends for mobile game apps in 2015.

Schauen wir mal wie sich neue Mobile Gaming Apps hinsichtlich der Monetarisierung im Jahr 2015 entwickelt haben. Als Ziel setzen wir uns theoretisch die Entwicklung eines Handy Games das durch verschiedene Monetarisierungs-Techniken profitabel werden soll. Welche Art von Spiel entwickelt wird schlägt sich direkt darauf nieder, welche Umsätze eingefahren werden können – hohe Umsätze sind das Endziel.

In diesem Artikel werden wir ein paar interessante Ansätze und Trends erklären, die dabei helfen können schnelles Geld mit einer Mobile Gaming App zu generieren.

Lokalisierung: Die besten Ländermoney-games-app-300x203

Bevor wir uns Gedanken darüber machen was wir für ein Spiel entwickeln wollen, müssen wir uns erstmal überlegen, für wen dieses Game kreiert werden soll (bezogen auf das Land). Die App Stores in den verschiedenen Ländern fluktuieren ständig. Manchmal gibt es mehr Potential in dem einen Land und ein paar Monaten später hat man durchaus mehr Glück in einem anderen.

2015 gibt es ein paar Länder die wirklich lohnenswert sind und hier sollte ein spezielles Augenmerk drauf gelegt werden. Nicht nur das, in diesen Ländern ist aber auch die App-Lokalisierung voraussichtlich doppelt so wichtig.

Die besten Regionen in denen man einsteigen sollte sind diese, in denen man das größte Wachstum erfährt. Gefestigte Regionen wie US oder Europa haben ein sehr gutes Potential für Mobile Game Revenue. Allerdings gibt es hier natürlich auch eine große Konkurrenz.

Laut dem letzten Reportvon Chartboost sind der Iran, Malaysia und Irak die drei Länder mit dem seit Jahren stärkstem Anstieg. Im Jahr 2015 verzeichneten sie folgendes Wachstum: Iran 897%, Malaysia 668% und Irak 604%.

Im Folgenden finden Sie die Top 10 Länder in Bezug auf das jährliche Wachstum:

  • Iran – 897%
  • Malaysia – 668%
  • Iraq – 604%
  • Peru – 417%
  • Colombia – 405%
  • India – 394%
  • Ukraine – 232%
  • Egypt – 221%
  • Argentina – 196%
  • Philippines – 156%

Die wichtigsten Kategorien für Games

Natürlich ist es wichtig sich auf die jeweils wichtigsten Regionen wie Europa, UK, Nordamerika und auch Japan zu fokussieren, aber es gibt auch eine Reihe an weiterem nicht genutztem Potential in diesen genannten Ländern.

Stellen wir uns vor wir konzentrieren uns, nachdem die App in der Muttersprache entwickelt wurde, auf eine gewisse Anzahl an den oben genannten Ländern. Nun ist es an der Reihe eine passende Kategorie zu finden. Interessanterweise ist das allgemeine Interesse für die verschiedenen Kategorien in den jeweiligen Ländern ganz unterschiedlich.

Im Folgenden sehen Sie die Top 5 Games-Kategorien und die dazugehörigen Top 3 performenden Länder:

  • Action – 54% in India, 34% Brazil, 25% Russia,
  • Adventure – 19% in UK, 17% Australia, 12% South Korea
  • Casual – 19% in Brazil, 18% Germany, 17% Russia
  • Puzzle – 41% in China, 23% UK, 17% Germany
  • Simulation – 21% in Germany, 19% South Korea, 19% Russia

Wenn man den Inhalt der App speziell auf die Länder anpassen möchte, sind diese Kategorien wahrscheinlich die passendsten. Alternativ kann man auch eine Kategorie rauspicken und sich auf die beste Region fokussieren.

CPI Preise weltweit

Die Entwicklung eines Spiels in einer der populärsten Kategorien ist aber immer noch nicht alles. Außerdem muss man sich über die Höhe des Budgets Gedanken machen um natürlich einen gewissen Umsatz einzubringen und vereinbarte Ziele zu erreichen. Nun werfen wir einen Blick auf die weltweiten CPI Preise für die meistentwickelten Regionen wenn es um die Mobile Industrie und die App Stores geht.

Durchschnittlicher CPI Preis im Januar 2015:

  • South Africa – $0.97
  • Brazil – $1.16
  • Great Britain – $1.80
  • Russia – $2.02
  • USA – $2.10
  • Japan – $2.42
  • Canada – $2.48
  • Australia – $2.78

Südafrika scheint wohl die günstigste Wahl auf dieser Liste zu sein aber womöglich ist dies nicht die beste Wahl für Ihre App. Brasilien und Großbritannien haben aktuell einen günstigen CPI Preis trotz der weitentwickelten App Stores. USA und Russland liegen ungefähr auf dem Durchschnittspreis während Japan, Kanada und Australien auf einem teureren Level liegen. Obwohl das so ist, wissen wir dass das Umsatzpotential in Japan enorm ist. Das gleiche kann auch von Australien und Kanada behauptet werden.

Hoffentlich hat Ihnen dieser Artikel einen Einblick in die Marketing- und Monetarisierungs-Trends im Jahr 2015 für die Entwicklung Ihres eigenen Mobile App Games gegeben.