To be in with a chance of gaining the most potential out of your mobile marketing, you need to understand the current emerging ad formats and make sure you understand what is been proven to work and what doesn’t work so well. In this article, we’ve listed a selection of great emerging ad formats that you should consider using for your own mobile marketing campaign.

In-app Banner Ads

Small and in-obtrusive, in-app banner ads are perhaps one of the most used ad formats currently used on mobile apps. Whilst it’s easy to assume that this ad format is ineffective, this is far from the truth, and it’s a great method for bringing in a decent amount of conversions for a particularly low price.

Push ads

Push ads are notification-based advertisements that appear in your notification bar. Users can view them at any time, but they will not be removed till the user has manually viewed the notification. This can be a great option for getting a lot of attention from your advertising efforts.
ad formats mobile

Icon Ads

Icon ads are one of the more looked down upon emerging ad formats, and they are rarely used. Icon ads appear as icons on a Android user’s home screen, and they can link to places on the Google Play store, among other locations. Whilst this practise may be seen as spam, it is effective at getting your name heard by those you are advertising to.

Dialog Ads

Dialog ads contain text that gives information to app users. Dialog ads are one of the best ad formats for building an incredibly strong call-to-action. This is especially the case when these ads are personalized to each and every user.

Appwall Ads

Appwall ads are an ad format that list a selection of apps that users can install for a reward. This can be a great way to boost app installs quickly, and whilst installs may not be as valuable as they would be from other ad sources, it can work as a great supplement to a powerful burst campaign.

Landing Page Ads

Landing Page Ads are one of our favorite emerging ad formats because they can take up a large amount of display space, which can be used for giving app users a better picture of what you are trying to advertise. Landing page ads are shown in suitable breaks which makes them fairly unobtrusive.

Rich Media Ads

Rich media ads are one of the most praised emerging ad formats, and that is because they have shown to do an incredible job at driving engagement and conversions. Unlike static ads, rich media ads can show a variety of interactable media formats.

Video Ads

Video ads can be a great way to engage users for longer periods of time. Similarly to traditional television ads, video ads on the mobile platform have a lot of potential, although their CPM is considered to be quite high.

Overlay Ads

Overlay ads are highly unobtrusive ad formats that can be placed over the top of app content – these can be a great way to provide relevant offers to app users.
There is no best ad format for mobile marketing, but out of these emerging ad formats, we would definitely suggest looking into rich media ads, landing page ads and a selection of any of the others we have listed in this article.

As you can tell, each of the emerging ad formats has it’s own pros and cons, and it’s down to your own company’s initiative to make the right calls on what formats will be best suited for your mobile marketing.

Um das größte Potential aus dem Mobile Marketing zu ziehen müssen die verschiedenen aufstrebenden Werbeformen für das Mobile Marketing verstanden und zudem muss erkannt werden, welche sich positiv auf die eigenen Marketingaktivitäten auswirken.

In diesem Artikel stellen wir eine Auswahl an neuen Formaten vor, die für die eigene Mobile Marketing Kampagne beachtet werden sollten.

In-app Banner Ads

Klein und unaufdringlich – In-App Banner sind momentan die am meisten benutzten Werbeformate in Mobile Apps. Dadurch dass auch bei den Mobile Bannern schnell auf die Banner-Blindness geschlossen wird, wird fälschlicherweise voreilig angenommen, dass diese Werbeform nicht profitabel ist. Allerdings bringt diese Methode für einen besonders niedrigen Preis eine angemessene Konversion.

Push ads

Push-Ads sind benachrichtigungsbezogene Werbung die in der Benachrichtigungsleiste des Smartphones angezeigt werden. Benutzer können diese jederzeit sehen und werden erst entfernt, wenn der User sich diese manuell anzeigen gelassen hat. Diese Form ist eine gute Möglichkeit um große Aufmerksamkeit für die getätigten Werbemaßnahmen zu erhalten.

ad formats mobile

Icon Ads

Icon-Ads werden aktuell noch sehr selten benutzt und laufen nur auf dem Android-Betriebssystem. Dabei erscheint eine Icon-Ad als Icon auf dem Homescreen des Smartphones und kann unter anderem direkt auf eine bestimmte Seite im Google Play Store verlinken. Vom User ist es dennoch ein effektives Werbeformat, um von denen wahrgenommen zu werden, die man auch ansprechen wollte.

Dialog Ads

Dialog-Ads enthalten Text der Informationen an App User übermittelt. Dieses Werbeformat ist eines der besten Formate um unglaublich starke Call-to-Action zu generieren. Im Besonderen ist das natürlich der Fall, wenn diese auch noch für jeden einzelnen User personalisiert sind.

Appwall Ads

AppWall Ad ist ein Format, bei dem der User eine Liste von Apps bekommt, die er gegen eine Belohnung herunterladen soll. Dies ist eine gute Möglichkeit, um die App Installs sehr schnell zu boosten. Da diese Installs nicht so wertvoll sind wie von einer anderen Ad Quelle, kann diese Form aber ein guter Zusatz zur eigentlichen Burst Kampagne sein.

Landing Page Ads

Landing Page Ads sind eines der besten neueren Ad Formate, da sie eine große Werbefläche anbieten um App Usern eine bessere Vorstellung davon zu geben, wofür man eigentlich Werbung macht. Landing Page Ads werden in passenden Userflow-Pausen gezeigt und machen diese dadurch weniger aufdringlich.

Rich Media Ads

Rich Media Anzeigen sind eine der meistgelobten neueren Anzeigenformate. Das kommt daher, dass sie das User Engagement und die Konversionen drastisch ankurbeln. Im Gegensatz zu statischen Werbeanzeigen können Rich Media Anzeigen eine Vielzahl von hartnäckigen Medienformaten zeigen.

Video Ads

Videos stellen eine großartige Möglichkeit dar um User für eine längere Zeit zu binden. Ähnlich wie bei traditionellen Fernsehwerbungen haben Video Ads auf mobilen Endgeräten ein hohes Potential, obwohl sie einen (vergleichsweise) hohen CPM haben.

Overlay Ads

Overlay-Ads sind sehr unaufdringlich und können über den App-Inhalt platziert werden. Dies stellt eine gute Möglichkeit dar relevante Angebote an die App User zu übermitteln.

Wie Sie sehen gibt es seine Vielzahl an verschiedenen Möglichkeiten und es ist schwer zu sagen, welche von denen nun die beste Form ist. Wir empfehlen auf jeden Fall sich näher mit Rich Media Ads und Landing Page Ads zu beschäftigen.

Sicherlich hat jedes einzelne Werbeformat eigene Pros und Cons und es hängt von der eigenen Unternehmensinitiative ab, diejenige auszuwählen die auch am besten zum eigenen Mobile Marketing passen.